Winners of Asia Cup from 1984 to 2023

By Basha

Updated on:

Winners of Asia Cup (Sportsbasha)

After winning the 2022 T20 Asia Cup final against Pakistan, Sri Lanka claimed the title. The tournament’s 2022 edition got off on August 27 and included six participating teams: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, and Hong Kong.

In terms of the history of the Asia Cup, the inaugural competition took place in the United Arab Emirates in 1984, with India and Sri Lanka competing in the championship match. The first-ever Asia Cup victors were crowned—the Men in Blue. The runners-up from the inaugural Asia Cup, Sri Lanka, won the trophy after defeating Pakistan in the second edition, which took place in 1986.

One of the most interesting Asia Cups ever was the 12th one, which saw numerous tight matches played before Sri Lanka, the T20 World Cup winners, emerged victorious by five wickets against Pakistan in the championship match.

Having won the Asia Cup seven times, Team India is the most successful squad in the competition. Pakistan has also won two Asia Cups, and Sri Lanka, who has won the coveted trophy five times, is ranked second. Bangladesh might consider themselves unlucky because they have three times advanced to the Asia Cup finals without winning the trophy.

Asia Cup Results: Top Finishers (1984–2023)

EditionYearWinnerWon ByRunner-UpHost
16th2023India10 wicketsSri LankaSri Lanka/Pakistan
15th2022Sri Lanka23 runsPakistanSri Lanka
14th2018India3 wicketsBangladeshUAE
13th2016India8 wicketsBangladeshBangladesh
12th2014Sri Lanka5 wicketsPakistanBangladesh
11th2012Pakistan2 runsBangladeshBangladesh
10th2010India81 runsSri LankaSri Lanka
9th2008Sri Lanka100 runsIndiaPakistan
8th2004Sri Lanka25 runsIndiaSri Lanka
7th2000Pakistan39 runsSri LankaBangladesh
6th1997Sri Lanka8 wicketsIndiaSri Lanka
5th1995India8 wicketsSri LankaUAE
4th1990-91India7 wicketsSri LankaIndia
3rd1988India6 wicketsSri LankaBangladesh
2nd1986Sri Lanka5 wicketsPakistanSri Lanka
1st1984IndiaIndia wonSri LankaUAE

Asia Cup Winners List featuring Player of the Series, Man of the Match, and Captain

YearWinnerCaptainMan Of The MatchPlayer Of The Tournament
2023IndiaRohit SharmaMohammed SirajKuldeep Yadav
2022Sri LankaDasun ShanakaBhanuka RajapaksaWanindu Hasaranga
2018IndiaRohit SharmaLitton DasShikhar Dhawan
2016IndiaMs DhoniShikhar DhawanSabbir Rahman
2014Sri LankaAngelo MathewsLasith MalingaLahiru Thirimanne
2012PakistanMisbah-ul-HaqShahid AfridiShakib Al Hasan
2010IndiaMs DhoniDinesh KarthikShahid Afridi
2008Sri LankaMahela Jayawardene Ajantha MendisAjantha Mendis
2004Sri LankaMarvan AtapattuMarvan AtapattuSanath Jayasuriya
2000PakistanMoin Khan  Moin Khan  Mohammad Yousuf
1997Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaMarvan AtapattuArjuna Ranatunga
1995IndiaMohammad AzharuddinMohammad Azharuddin Navjot Sidhu
1990-91IndiaMohammad AzharuddinMohammad Azharuddin 
1988IndiaDilip VengsarkarNavjot SidhuNavjot Sidhu
1986Sri LankaDuleep MendisJaved MiandadArjuna Ranatunga
1984IndiaSunil GavaskarSurinder Khanna

Asia Cup Title Wins Most

WinnerVictoriesWinner Year
India81984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016 2018, & 2023
Sri Lanka61986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan22000 & 2012

Leave a Comment