ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winners, from 2007 to 2022

By Basha

Updated on:

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winners, from 2007 to 2022

The T20 World Cup is currently being defended by England, who defeated Pakistan in Dubai in 2022 by a margin of five wickets.

The first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup took place in South Africa in 2007. Twenty-over cricket made its global debut when India defeated Pakistan in a thrilling final to win the first edition. Since then, the prized T20 World Cup trophy has been lifted by Australia, West Indies, Sri Lanka, England, and Pakistan. Let’s see who the victors overcame to capture the coveted championship in each season.

India: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2007

India defeated Pakistan, their fiercest rivals, by 5 runs in a thrilling final played in Johannesburg. India did this to become the first team to win a World Cup in both ODI and T20I cricket. Prior to the final, the Men in Blue emerged victorious in five games, including an England group stage encounter in which Yuvraj Singh hit Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over.

India had previously played Pakistan in the World Cup group stages, with MS Dhoni’s squad winning via bowling out. With 265 runs, Matthew Hayden was the highest-scoring batsman in the competition, and with seven wickets, Umar Gul was the most successful bowler in the first-ever T20 World Cup.

Pakistan: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2009

Pakistan won the coveted T20 title for the first time in 2009, shrugging over the disappointment of their previous final defeat to India. They easily won the final, defeating Sri Lanka by eight wickets. In this season, Umar Gul took home the most wickets with 13, while Tillakaratne Dilshan was the leading run scorer with 317 runs.

England: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2010

One year after the second T20 World Cup, there was a third edition. England won their first World Cup championship in any cricket format when they overcame opponents Australia in the championship match by a margin of seven wickets. The tournament’s highest batsman, Mahela Jayawardene, amassed 302 runs, while Dirk Nannes led the bowling statistics with 14 wickets.

West Indies: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2012

In the 2012 edition, West Indies won their first T20 World Cup with a lopsided victory over Sri Lanka in the final. In this event, the colorful power-hitters from the Caribbean were too much for the other teams to handle. Shane Watson of Australia finished first in the event with 249 runs, and Ajantha Mendis took the most wickets with 15.

Sri Lanka: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2014

In 2014, Sri Lanka gave retiring superstars Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara a proper send-off by winning the final by six wickets, spoiling India’s hopes of capturing a second T20 title. With 319 runs, Virat Kohli led the batting statistics, and the tournament’s best wicket-takers were Ahsan Malik of the Netherlands and Imran Tahir of South Africa, each with 12 wickets.

West Indies: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2016

In a thrilling final over match to win the trophy for the second time, West Indies defeated England to win the 2016 T20 World Cup. West Indies made history when Carlos Brathwaite hit four straight sixes against Ben Stokes in the last over. Tamim Iqbal of Bangladesh (295) and Mohammad Nabi of Afghanistan (12) topped the tournament’s run and wicket charts, respectively.

Australia: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Australia won their first-ever T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, defeating their Trans-Tasman rivals, New Zealand, by eight wickets in the final. The Australians finally lifted the T20 trophy that had eluded them for the longest time, chasing 173 with seven balls remaining after all-rounder Mitchell Marsh scored 77 off 50 balls. The T20 World Cup 2021 saw Pakistani skipper Babar Azam (303) score the most runs, while Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga took the lead in wickets with 16 in eight matches.

England: Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2022

The England cricket team became just the second team in the competition’s history to win a trophy after defeating Pakistan by five wickets. The English bowlers bowled brilliantly all round, limiting the Babar Azam-led team to 137/8 in their allotted 20 overs. Ben Stokes answered with a brilliant half-century to win the match for England. With 296 runs, India batsman Virat Kohli was the leading scorer, but Sri Lankan spinner Wanindu Hasaranga led in wicket-taking with 15 wickets.

Winner Of ICC T20 World Cup 2007-2022

YearWinnersRunners UpVenue
2009PakistanSri LankaLondon
2012West IndiesSri LankaColombo
2014Sri LankaIndiaDhaka
2016West IndiesEnglandKolkata
2021AustraliaNew ZealandDubai


Since its launch in 2007, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup has seen an abundance of exhilarating contests, outstanding performances, and memorable moments. Every tournament has contributed a new chapter to the rich tapestry of T20 cricket history, from Australia’s back-to-back victories in 2020 and 2022 to India’s victory in the inaugural edition. One thing is clear as the competition develops: the T20 World Cup will never cease to wow cricket fans across the globe with its unique combination of drama, excitement, and pure athletic perfection.


Which team has won the most T20 World Cup titles?

West Indies holds the record for winning the most T20 World Cup titles, with two victories in 2012 and 2016.

Who has been the leading run-scorer in T20 World Cup history?

Till date, Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka holds the record for the most runs scored in T20 World Cup history.

Which player has taken the most wickets in T20 World Cup tournaments?

The Pakistani spinner, Shahid Afridi, holds the record for taking the most wickets in T20 World Cup history.

Has any team successfully defended their T20 World Cup title?

Yes, Australia successfully defended their T20 World Cup title by winning the tournament in both 2010 and 2022.

What is the significance of the T20 World Cup in modern cricket?

The T20 World Cup holds immense significance as it showcases the best talents in the shortest format of the game, promoting excitement and innovation in cricket.

Leave a Comment