Winners of the Indian Premier League from 2008 to 2024

By Basha

Updated on:

Winners of the Indian Premier League from 2008 to 2024

The top cricket players from across the world compete in the Indian Premier League (IPL), which is the most fiercely contested T20 league worldwide. For a span of two months, across 16–17 matches, teams must perform effectively in order to win the IPL trophy. A captain must lead his troops and inspire them to perform to the best of their skills while assembling a strong winning combination.
The two most successful teams in the competition, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, have figured out how to win the Indian Premier League. Chennai has also won the title five times under MS Dhoni’s leadership, while Mumbai has won five times under Rohit Sharma’s leadership.

Also Read: PSL Season 9 Anthem by Ali Zafar & Aima Baig: A Catchy Release

Under Gautam Gambhir’s direction, Kolkata Knight Riders have won the trophy twice, in 2012 and 2014, making them the third most successful franchise in the competition. Hyderabad is also the owner of two titles. They won as the Deccan Chargers in 2009, captained by the esteemed Adam Gilchrist, and as the “Sunrisers Hyderabad” in 2016 under the direction of David Warner.

Leading the Rajasthan Royals in the 2008 season, Shane Warne became the first captain to win an IPL title. However, the Gujarat Titans, led by Hardik Pandya, also took home the trophy in 2022 during their inaugural campaign. Let’s examine the IPL winners list from 2008 to 2024 as another IPL season draws to an end.

Winners & Runners List of IPL 2008-2024

YearWinnerWon ByRunner Up
2024Coming SoonComing Soon
2023Chennai Super Kings5 wicketsGujarat Titans
2022Gujarat Titans7 wicketsRajasthan Royals
2021Chennai Super Kings27 runsKolkata Knight Riders
2020Mumbai Indians5 wicketsDelhi Capitals
2019Mumbai Indians1 runChennai Super Kings
2018Chennai Super Kings8 wicketsSunrisers Hyderabad
2017Mumbai Indians1 runRising Pune Supergiants
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad8 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Mumbai Indians41 runsChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 wicketsKings XI Punjab
2013Mumbai Indians23 runsChennai Super Kings
2012Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsChennai Super Kings
2011Chennai Super Kings58 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Chennai Super Kings22 runsMumbai Indians
2009Deccan Chargers6 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2008Rajasthan Royals3 wicketsChennai Super Kings

Player of the Series & Venue

You can learn more about the sport in general by using this list. Below is a thorough examination of the IPL winning list, match location, player of the match, and player of the series.

YearWinnerVenuePlayer of the Series
2024Coming SoonComing Soon
2023Chennai Super KingsAhmedabadShubman Gill
2022Gujarat TitansAhmedabadJos Buttler
2021Chennai Super KingsDubaiHarshal Patel
2020Mumbai IndiansDubaiJofra Archer
2019Mumbai IndiansHyderabadAndre Russell
2018Chennai Super KingsMumbaiSunil Narine
2017Mumbai IndiansHyderabadBen Stokes
2016Sunrisers HyderabadBangaloreVirat Kohli
2015Mumbai IndiansKolkataAndre Russell
2014Kolkata Knight RidersBangaloreGlenn Maxwell
2013Mumbai IndiansKolkataShane Watson
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennaiSunil Narine
2011Chennai Super KingsChennaiChris Gayle
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbaiSachin Tendulkar
2009Deccan ChargersJohannesburgAdam Gilchrist
2008Rajasthan RoyalsMumbaiShane Watson

Winner of IPL 2023

In order to win the IPL 2023, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Gujarat Titans by a margin of five wickets. CSK has won five IPL championships. With the help of Ravindra Jadeja’s two-ball six and four, the Chennai Super Kings defeated the Gujarat Titans by five wickets to win their fifth championship together with the Mumbai Indians. Devon Conway, the opener for New Zealand, has been selected the IPL 2023 final’s Player of the Match. Along with a trophy, he will get a cash prize of 500,000 rupees. With a 25-ball 47, he was CSK’s best player. The victor of the current IPL tournament will receive 20 billion yen in prize money, while the runner-up will receive 130 billion yen. The Gujrat Titans (GT)’s Shubman Gill (890) and Mohammed Shami (28), respectively, took home the orange and purple caps. We go at a few significant IPL 2023 awards below:

Most Valuable PlayerShubman Gill (GT)
Super StrikerGlenn Maxwell (RCB)
Emerging Player of the YearYashasvi Jaiswal (RR)
Best PitchMumbai’s Wankhede Stadium
Best GroundKolkata’s Eden Gardens
Fairplay AwardDelhi Capitals
Longest SixFaf du Plessis (RCB)
Catch of the SeasonRashid Khan (GT)
Most FoursShubman Gill (GT)

Most Successful IPL Teams

The most successful IPL teams are Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK), each with five IPL championship victories. Let’s examine his roster of IPL champions for the group.

IPL TeamIPL TrophyIPL Winner
Mumbai Indians5 times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings5 times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
Kolkata Knight Riders2 times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 time2008
Deccan Chargers1 time2009
Gujarat Titans1 time2022

Leave a Comment